WLC Honors Convocation 2013

Date Posted: May 6, 2013

MILWAUKEE – Honors Convocation is an annual event that recognizes Wisconsin Lutheran College students who have made outstanding academic and leadership contributions to the college. The 2013 Honors Convocation was held Friday, May 3 in the Schwan Concert Hall. The following students received awards at the event:

Golden Palette Award: Anna Biedenbender
Presented to a junior or senior art major to acknowledge a student’s pursuit of artistic discipline and the application of art skills in contribution to the college and the community.

Vision Award: Bethany Berg
Presented to a freshman or sophomore student displaying outstanding discipline, involvement, and promise in the field of art.

Gerald and Georgia Brommer Art Scholarship: Taylor Paddock
Awarded to a senior art major who shows dedication and adherence to Christian ideals in the life of the student, artistic skills in the student’s chosen area of art, and a dedication to art as a vital element in the Christian life.

Fred and Mary Beth Schmelzer Scholarship for Studio Arts: Zhe Li
Awarded to a sophomore who has declared an art major and has been selected by the art faculty on the basis of exceptional artistic and academic merit.

Herbert O. Fleischer Memorial Scholarship: Heather McLain
Presented to a sophomore to recognize and encourage an outstanding biology major.

CRC Press Freshman Chemistry Achievement Award: Christa Winslow
Awarded to a freshman chemistry student who has demonstrated outstanding academic achievement and a high interest in chemistry.

Didaskalos Award: Hillary Singer
Presented to an education major who demonstrates concern for student achievement and welfare, desire for ongoing learning, and personal Christian values.

ETS Award of Excellence: Lucretia Heinz
Presented to education majors who score in the top 15 percent of all candidates nationwide who took the PRAXIS II test.

Judy Voigt Urban Service and Leadership Award: Kelsi Daffner
Presented to a student who has demonstrated leadership, academic ability, and service orientation to the urban school community.

Renaissance Award: Nicole Watson
Presented to a multi-dimensional scholar citizen and English major whose contribution to English courses and the larger community is outstanding.

Melvin and Marion Meyer Human Social Services Scholarship: Sarah Johnson
Presented to a full-time human social services major who consistently demonstrates servant leadership through serving the needs of others.

Freshman Honors in Mathematics Award: Andy DeNoyer, Lezlie Espana, Ryan George, Christa Winslow
Presented to students for outstanding performance during their freshman year in mathematics courses at the level of calculus 1 or higher.

Nicolas Bourbaki Award: Alison Rosenblum
Presented to a student who has demonstrated the potential for excellence in mathematics.

Golden Lyre Award: Peter Buschkopf, Benjamin Ristow
Awarded in recognition of talent and contributions to the programs of the music department of Wisconsin Lutheran College.

Cantabile Award: Quinten Petersen, Nina Weid
Presented to students who have demonstrated leadership and excellence in the choral program at Wisconsin Lutheran College.

Fanfare Award: Whitney Dotson, Kathryn Hendee
Presented to students in recognition of musical talent and contributions to the music department in the area of instrumental music.

Nurse Pioneer Award: Connor Hinrichs
Presented to a nursing student or students who have demonstrated exceptional leadership qualities such as courage, creativity, or service during the previous year.

Sigma Theta Tau International Nursing Honor Society: Rachel Borchard, Katie Kronebusch, Leanna Miller, Kaili Markgraf, Kayla Wiechmann
Presented to nursing majors who have demonstrated professional leadership potential and academic integrity.

Kepler Award: Samuel Wiepking
Presented to a student who is pursing a major or minor in physics and who exhibits virtues of thought and character.

Roger Fleming Senior Scholar-Athlete Award: Tyler Schoen, Kathryn Hendee
Presented to a graduating senior who over seven semesters has maintained a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.4, earned a minimum of two varsity letters in a specific sport, and demonstrated Christian leadership on campus.

Wisconsin Lutheran Child and Family Service Psychology Scholarship: Stefanie Cox, Julie Favorite
Presented to a sophomore psychology major who has demonstrated excellence in scholarship and service.

Psi Chi National Honor Society in Psychology: Aubrey Breuckman, Stephanie Cox, Julie Favorite, Daniel Kingsbury, Samantha Nigbur, Daniel Poppie, Jennifer Polzin, Marianne Loescher, Brittany Hablewitz, Vincent Schiavone-Jacobson, Jonathan Schmid
Presented to psychology majors or minors who have demonstrated excellence in academic achievement in psychology and a commitment to psychological science and Christian service.

Jan Nelson Gompper Award for Excellence in Theatre Performance: Octavia Morton
Presented to a graduating theatre major who has demonstrated exemplary commitment to development as an actor through a professional approach in the classroom, rehearsals and performances; with self-motivation pushing creativity, taking risks, and exhibiting a visible Christian character.

Award for Excellence in Theatre Arts: Anastasia Wild
Presented to a graduating theatre major who has demonstrated and developed a voracious appetite for multiple areas of theatre knowledge and experience, a driving desire for inquiry and exploration whose contribution to activities in the classroom, theatre, studio, and shop has been exemplary.

Sharon A. Schoeneck Christian Women's Leadership Scholarship: Arlensiu Novelli
Awarded to acknowledge, encourage, and promote the tremendous talents of some of our greatest resources, that of our young Christian women.

WLC Alumni Scholarship: Megume Poetter
Presented to a student who has demonstrated academic excellence, co-curricular involvement, and Christian character.

Gary and Sandra Greenfield Christian Leadership Scholarship: Anna Biedenbender, Dante Gutter
Presented to a student who has displayed exemplary Christian leadership, as demonstrated to us by the college's former president and wife.