WLC Honors Convocation 2010

Honors Convocation 2010 image

Date Posted: May 10, 2010

MILWAUKEE – Honors Convocation is an annual event that recognizes Wisconsin Lutheran College students who have made outstanding academic and leadership contributions to the college. The 2010 Honors Convocation was held Friday, May 7 in the Schwan Concert Hall. The following students received awards at the event:

Golden Palette Award: Kirsten Huffman
Presented to a junior or senior art major to acknowledge a student’s pursuit of artistic discipline and the application of art skills in contribution to the college and the community.

Vision Award: Patrice Velguth
Presented to a freshman or sophomore student displaying outstanding discipline, involvement, and promise in the field of art.

Gerald and Georgia Brommer Art Scholarship: Julie Schwartz
Awarded to a senior art major who shows dedication and adherence to Christian ideals in the life of the student, artistic skills in the student’s chosen area of art, and a dedication to art as a vital element in the Christian life.

Herbert O. Fleischer Scholarship for the Outstanding Biology Major: Erin Mathiak
Presented to a sophomore to recognize and encourage an outstanding biology major.

CRC Press Freshman Chemistry Achievement Award: Aubrey Rockman
Awarded to a freshman chemistry student who has demonstrated outstanding academic achievement and a high interest in chemistry.

ETS Recognition of Excellence Award: Phil Cox, Nicole Hastings, Abby Hintz, Valerie Klika
Presented to individuals who score at the highest performance levels on the Praxis Series of Tests as compared to other test takers nationally.

Didaskalos Award: Gabby Schiels, Alyssa Glatzel
Presented to an education major who demonstrates concern for student achievement and welfare, desire for ongoing learning, and personal Christian values.

Renaissance Award: Jarod Ferch
Presented to a multi-dimensional scholar citizen and English major whose contribution to English courses and the larger community is outstanding.

Freshman Honors in Mathematics Award: Matt Boehlke, Noah Meilahn, Paul Roever
Presented to students for outstanding performance during their freshman year in mathematics courses at the level of calculus 1 or higher.

Cantabile Award: Katie Schoell
Presented to students who have demonstrated leadership and excellence in the choral program at Wisconsin Lutheran College.

Fanfare Award: Jeffrey Sitzman, Joseph Workman
Presented to students in recognition of musical talent and contributions to the music department in the area of instrumental music.

Golden Lyre Award: John Fenske, Chara Fedke
Awarded in recognition of talent and contributions to the programs of the music department of Wisconsin Lutheran College.

Nurse Pioneer Award: Andrew Denzin, Jennifer Hartsough, Jillian Jackan, Amanda Kamla, Melissa Krug, Kristen Luebbe, Amber Marshall, Brittany Peters, Nathanael Rosenberg, Kayla Wisniewski
Presented to a nursing student or students who have demonstrated exceptional leadership qualities such as courage, creativity, or service during the previous year.

Roger Fleming Senior Scholar-Athlete Award: Whitney Miller, Alex Allister
Presented to a graduating senior who over seven semesters has maintained a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.4, earned a minimum of two varsity letters in a specific sport, and demonstrated Christian leadership on campus.

Wisconsin Lutheran Child and Family Service Scholarship: Leah Feuerstahler, Katie Hilbelink
Presented to a sophomore psychology major who has demonstrated excellence in scholarship and service.

Psi Chi National Honor Society in Psychology: Laura Benge, Jessica Landini, Colin Makepeace
Presented to psychology majors or minors who have demonstrated excellence in academic achievement in psychology and a commitment to psychological science and Christian service.

Theatre Excellence Award in Performance: Linnea Koeppel
Presented to a graduating theatre major or minor who has demonstrated significant growth as a performer, a commitment to theatre excellence, mature leadership, and visible Christian character.

Technical Theatre Award: Aaron Siegmann
Presented to a graduating theatre major or minor who has demonstrated significant growth in technical theatre, a commitment to theatrical excellence, mature leadership, and visible Christian character.

Alumni Scholarship Award: Elizabeth Kock
Presented to a student who has demonstrated academic excellence, co-curricular involvement, and Christian character.

Gary and Sandra Greenfield Christian Leadership Scholarship: Jonathan Fricke, Chelsea Nillissen
Presented to a student who has displayed exemplary Christian leadership, as demonstrated to us by the college's former president and wife.

Sharon A. Schoeneck Christian Women's Leadership Scholarship: Elizabeth Duncan
Awarded to acknowledge, encourage, and promote the tremendous talents of some of our greatest resources, that of our young Christian women.

The Judy Voigt Urban Service and Leadership Award: Lindsay Maas
Presented to a student who has demonstrated leadership, academic ability, and service orientation to the urban school community.

Urban Pioneer Award: Hannah Tullberg, Jennifer Hammond
Awarded to selected education majors who have committed to preparing to become serving leaders in urban education through a one-year urban immersion experience during their senior year.

Heart of Leadership Scholarship: Nathanael Rosenberg
Presented to support, recognize, and encourage a student who demonstrates a Christian's heart for leadership at WLC through academics, volunteerism, extra-curricular participation, and/or mentoring.

Edward and Marge Seigworth Education Scholarship: Amber Wittenburg
Awarded to support, acknowledge, encourage, and promote students who choose to positively impact young lives by majoring in the field of elementary education.

Sally and Tim Kriewall Scholarship for Nursing Care Excellence: Melissa Krug
Awarded to provide financial support to a junior or senior student who will positively impact lives through a career in nursing.

Wisconsin Foundation of Independent Colleges Scholarship: Michelle Behl, Jonathan Fricke
A competitive scholarship awarded by the WFIC, presented to a student who has demonstrated academic excellence, leadership skills, and community service.